Questions

Shalom:;  Here are some questions to carry with you to shul on the holidays or discuss at the dinner table during the holiday and the days leading up to Yom Kippur.  I suggest you print them out. They are courtesy of Rabbi Kalman Packouz and, though not new, I think they remain useful in helping us frame our individual thinking and introspection at this time of the year. Gail and I wish for all of you a good sweet New Year in a slightly more peaceful world. Rabbi Bill Rudolph

1)    When do I most feel that my life is meaningful?

2)    How often do I express my feelings to those who mean the most to me?

3)    Are there any ideals I would be willing to die for?

4)    If I could live my life over, would I change anything?

5)   What would bring me more happiness than anything else in the world?

6)    What are my three most significant achievements since last Rosh Hashanah?

7)    What are the three biggest mistakes I’ve made since last Rosh Hashanah?

8)    What project or goal, if left undone, will I most regret next Rosh Hashanah?

9)    If I knew I couldn’t fail, what would I undertake to accomplish in my life?

10)  What are my three major goals in life?  What am I doing to achieve them?  What practical steps can I take in the next two months toward those goals?

11)  If I could give young people only three pieces of advice, what would they be?

12)  What is the most important decision I need to make this year?

13)  What important decision did I avoid making last year?

14)  What did I do last year that gave me the strongest feeling of self-respect?

15)  When do I feel closest to G-d? If I could change one thing about my spiritual life, what would  that be?

16)  Do I have a vision of where I want to be one, three and five years from now?

17)  What are the most important relationships in my life?  Over the last year did those relationships become closer and deeper or was there a sense of stagnation and drifting?  What can I do to nurture those relationships this year?

18)  If I could change only one thing about myself, what would that be?

Leave a Reply

